Garuka Bars Review (+ Giveaway!)

16 Aug

In both my career (as an RD) and my hobby (as a runner), I come across a bazillion different products designed to provide energy to fuel workouts, ward off hunger, promote weight loss, etc. Being the ever-curious, mainly skeptical person (as well as responsible dietitian) that I am, I love researching these products to see what the ingredients and nutrition facts are and whether their claims are substantiated.

I first heard about Garuka Bars through a fellow RD on twitter and immediately clicked over to their website. I got in contact with Founder and President of Garuka Bars Mike, who runs the company part-time and he sent me a sample to try!

garuka

All Natural Ingredients: Raw Honey, Peanut Butter Spread (peanuts, sugar, palm oil, salt), Dried Cranberries (cranberries, sugar), Whole Grain Flakes (khorasan wheat flour*, whole wheat meal*, evaporated cane juice*, whole oat flour*, spelt flour*, barley flour*, whole millet*, barely malt extract*, quinoa*, sea salt, honey*), Peanuts, Brown Rice Puffs (brown rice*, brown rice syrup*, sea salt), Brown Sugar, Butter. *Organic

Typically, I’d look at this ingredient list and be overwhelmed. I tend to stick to bars with fewer ingredients, such as Lara or KIND bars. But if you look closely, the ingredient list is no reason to skip these tasty bars! The ingredients are all easy identified and truly do provide efficient energy sources to fuel physical activity. At 260 calories and 6 grams of protein, this bar is comparable to other energy bars and is a good option for fueling before and even during workouts.

Okay, so Garuka Bars are “RD approved”, but that’s not all that makes them great. Garuka Bars are also environmentally responsible. They use completely recyclable packaging (and are currently the only bar to do so) and they donate a portion of their sales to gorilla conservation efforts (visit the International Gorilla Conservation Program). I’m ALL about supporting companies that care about the environment and give back!

So what about the taste? I tried the Garuka Bar before a long run and thought it was just the right amount of nuttiness and sweetness, with a little crunch from the rice puffs. I guess you can’t really go wrong with nuts, dried fruit and honey! If you’re looking to try a new bar that you can feel good about buying, I definitely recommend Garuka Bars.

Want to try them for yourself? Order now or visit one of their retail locations. But first, enter my giveaway for the chance to win a 6-pack of Garuka Bars! Mike is generously providing a 6-pack of Garuka Bars to TWO readers of my giveaway. Enter to win below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 Responses to “Garuka Bars Review (+ Giveaway!)”

  1. Beth @RxBethOnTheRun August 16, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    My current go to nutrition bars are Kind Bars. Would love to try something new and RD approved!

  2. Steph August 20, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    Not sure if they’re RD approved, but I always eat Clif bars. They’re kind of my go to, but I also love Kind bars, they’re just so dang expensive!

  3. steph August 20, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I usually go for a Kind Bar or a CLIF bar… but these look tastyyy!

  4. Alissa August 20, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

    I actually make my own protein bars. I follow the Tone It Up Recipe but tweek it slightly. They are amazing!! Here’s the recipe if you’re interested..http://toneitup.com/blog.php?ToneItUpand-039-s-Homemade-Protein-Bars-27

  5. lamhookem August 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Love Kind and Larabars would love these though!

  6. lamhookem August 20, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

    Would love to try these! I love Larabars and Kind Bars right now.

Leave a Reply

