Marathon Training: Week 6

26 Aug

6 weeks down, 12 to go!  That means I’m 1/3 of the way done with my training.  I’m feeling great and building up mileage well, but 3 months is still a long way away!  Let’s see how Week 6 went…

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Coach had 4 miles on my schedule (1 warm up, 2 @ 9:10 pace, 1 cool down).  Since I still have no idea how to pace myself (even with a Garmin), I did 1 mile warm-up while Garmin decided to wake up, 1 mile at 8:56, 1 mile at 8:58 and 1 cool-down at 9:45.  Close enough?

Wednesday: Did a mini strength workout before work: 5 rounds of 10 squats, 10 push-ups, 20 crunches each. 

Thursday: AM-4 easy miles (10: 33 pace) + 4 strides AM (6:20 average pace—>WHAT!?), PM-45 min BodyRide @ Revolve

Friday: Rest & foam rolling

Satuday: 14 miles LR (10:45-ish pace?) with Beth & Nicole. We ran up WSH to the Little Red Lighthouse under the GWB. 

536975_10100250705735731_1912206773_n

The weather was perfect and we ran into lots of runner friends making the same trip (including speedy Coach Abby!).  I also tried out the CamelBak Ultra LR vest for the first time and really liked it!  Full review coming soon!

Sunday: Unplanned rest day.  I was planning on doing a 3 mile recovery run today, but woke up with an achy stiff knee and decided against it!  Instead, I foam rolled like crazy and spent the day packing and moving things to storage, which I will count toward strength training… 🙂  Hey, air conditioners aren’t exactly light!

Total weekly mileage: 22!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

2 Responses to “Marathon Training: Week 6”

  1. Beth @RxBethOnTheRun August 28, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    “6:20 average pace–>WHAT!?” is right!!!!! You are SO much faster than you think you are. What an amazing week you had! I’m so proud of you and can’t wait to see what you do in the next 12 weeks of training! Keep up the great work, little running rockstar!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

