Marathon Training: Week 7

2 Sep

Happy Labor Day!  Today, I’ll be celebrating by NOT going to work, BBQing with my family upstate and taking a well-deserved REST DAY! Woo!  Week 7 of training for the Philadelphia Marathon is over and I’ve finally reached a point in my training where it feels like I’m training for 26.2!  Let’s see how this week went:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 4 mile fartlek (9:36 average pace) + Moving (Let’s call that strength training?)

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: 4 Easy (9:55 average pace) + 4 Strides (6:13 pace–BOOM!)

Friday: Rest-  I did all the WRONG things to prepare for my long run…I had to paint my old apartment back to the original color, so I spent Friday night on my feet, sweating (and not drinking much water) and I didn’t eat dinner until LATE.  [BAD RD! :(]

Satuday: 16 mile LR (10:24 average pace)- I ran 4+ miles from Astoria over the QB Bridge to meet Beth, Bernadette, Steph and Allison for some miles in Central Park.  Everyone had different distances to run and it was awesome to tick away my middle miles with these awesome ladies.  We did a full loop of the park, then headed back over to the East side, where B and I headed back over the bridge to Queens.  I finished my last 2 miles solo and hit 16 miles for my personal distance record!!!

1186205_10100256025799281_1990039186_n

16 miles= PDR!

Sunday: 3 mile recovery run (10:44 average pace)-My legs were definitely feeling those 16 miles, but I started out super slow and eased into this recovery run.  By the end, my legs loosened right up and I felt great!

Total Weekly Mileage: 27. 🙂

7 down, 11 to go!  Another PDR next week, and hopefully some cooler (& less humid) runs coming up!  Tell me…are you training for a fall race?  How’s it going?

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

One Response to “Marathon Training: Week 7”

  1. Kristin miller September 2, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

    Awesome PDR! So excited to follow your journey, you’re doing great! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

