A Fall Pasta “Primavera” Recipe

11 Sep

Happy Wednesday!  I’m excited to share some fun news with you all on this Hump Day.  Last week, I was featured on the Pasta Fits website in a Q&A about pasta and exercise!  

pastafits

Q&A on Pasta & Exercise

As a runner training for my FIRST marathon (ahhh!) and a dietitian who works with athletes, it’s safe to say I know a little something about diet and exercise.  So when my friends at the National Pasta Association had some questions about how endurance athletes can use pasta to fuel their training, I was more than happy to share my thoughts!  Click on over to their site to see what I had to say.

Since pasta is a staple in my diet during marathon training, I’m always looking for new and and interesting pasta recipes.  Recently inspired by the presence of new seasonal apple varieties in the grocery store, I decided to try a pasta dish using apples!  I know it might sound strange at first, but trust me…it’s really delicious! Check out the recipe below and try it for yourself.

Fall Pasta “Primavera”

(Serves 4)

20130910-183540.jpg

1/2 box whole grain pasta (I used fettucine)

2 Tbsp butter

1 medium onion

1/2 lb crimini mushrooms

2-3 medium apples (I used Ginger Gold)

1 cup vegetable stock (or Chicken stock)

1 cup water

~1/2 cup marsala wine

salt & pepper to taste

grated Parmesan cheese

20130910-183506.jpg

Cooking up a storm

Directions:

-Heat a large skillet and melt butter.  Stir in chopped onion and mushrooms, saute for approximately 5 minutes.  Add in chopped apples and cook for additional 2-3 minutes.

-In a medium saucepan, combine stock, water and wine.  Bring to a boil, add pasta and cook for 8-10 minutes.  Pour half of pasta “sauce” directly into pan with apple mixture.  Strain remaining liquid and pasta.  Add pasta back into saucepan and toss all ingredients together.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

20130910-183532.jpg

Ta da!

-Last (but not least), serve and top with grated Parmesan cheese!  Enjoy!

20130910-183523.jpg

Dig in!

Not only is this fall pasta dish super easy to throw together and absolutely delicious, but it’s healthy too!  It’s only about 300 calories per serving, high in fiber and packed with lots of vitamins and minerals!  I chose to make this a vegetarian dish, but there are endless ways to edit this recipe to make it your own.  Chicken or pork would pair well with the flavors, as would goat or bleu cheese!   Get creative and have fun with it!

Give it a try and share your thoughts with me.  Do you have a favorite or unique pasta recipe to share?  

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

4 Responses to “A Fall Pasta “Primavera” Recipe”

  1. Beth September 13, 2013 at 1:18 am #

    Great recipe! When should I come over so you can try it out again? 😉 I love ginger gold apples. Had a whole bag of them this week. LOVE FALL. This recipe seems so easy to make and sounds delish! Keep the healthy fall recipes coming.

    • Kim September 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      I’d be more than happy to make this again for you! I had leftovers for days and LOVED it! 🙂

  2. Bat-el September 14, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

    hello i nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Love your blog, keep up the good work.
    http://chubbyismyname.wordpress.com/2013/09/14/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    • Kim September 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

