Marathon Training: Week 9

16 Sep

Holy crap! Just like that, I’m halfway through my training cycle!  Despite being a cut-back week for my long run, I still managed to get in 6 solid workouts.  Let’s recap:

Monday: Yoga (60 min)-I haven’t been to a real yoga class in months and boy did it show!  I was so shaky and felt out of shape, but it was still amazing to get in a nice stretch and kick off the week with yoga.  And did you know, September is National Yoga Month?

Tuesday: 6 miles (1 mile warm-up, 4 miles at 9:00 pace, 1 mile cool down)…Actual splits-10:05, 9:04, 8:55, 8:59, 8:58, 9:56.  I can’t lie, I’m pretty proud of myself for hitting those middle four miles right on target!  It was once again humid this morning and I wasn’t sure if I could hit those paces, but I did it! (Thanks to my coach for pushing me to try and believing that I can!)

Wednesday: Revolve Body Ride (45min)-I convinced my new “roomates” (my cousin and her fiance) to join me and enjoy Jason’s fabulous class!  It was definitely a sweaty 45 minutes and I felt great after.

Thursday: 7 easy (10:24 avg pace)-This was probably the worst run of my whole training cycle so far.  It was hot (78*) and humid (73%) and I wanted to quit less than a mile in.  I woke up very early to run before work and had plenty of rest but the entire run was a battle.  I was also supposed to do a few strides at the end of the run, but my stomach had other plans and instead I did my sprints home to the bathroom!

Friday: Rest (yahoooo!)

Saturday: 10 miles (12:20 pace)-Since all of my usual long run buddies were either racing this weekend or ran Friday, I decided to invite myself to run with “Team Ellen“.  My cousin and her coworkers are training for the Hamptons Half Marathon through Team in Training, fundraising like crazy and honoring a friend and colleague who they lost to Leukemia in 2012.  These ladies thought they were holding me back and were “too slow” (no such thing), but it was awesome to run with them and they totally rocked those 10 miles!  Not everyone can take on the challenge of training for a half marathon (and this is their 2nd!), but on top of that, these ladies also bust their butts to do it for an amazing cause.  They inspire me and I can’t wait to cheer them on in less than 2 weeks!  🙂

20130914-105343.jpg

10 mile run with Team Ellen!

Sunday: 3 miles (9:24 average pace)-I wanted to do some hills after running 10 flat miles yesterday, so I ran a few loops of Astoria Park, focusing on the hills rather than avoiding them like I usually do!  I somehow got my crazy CrossFit boyfriend to join me for my “recovery” miles, so this pace was definitely faster than planned. 

Total weekly mileage: 26!

9 down. 9 to go!  I’m pretty scared of this upcoming week, which will include some speedier runs and a 20-miler with the 5th Avenue mile in the middle! Ahhh!  Stay tuned!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

12 Responses to “Marathon Training: Week 9”

  1. SportTracks (@sporttracks) September 16, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Those are some solid splits! What’s your target goal?

    • Kim September 16, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks! Goal is just to finish the marathon! 🙂

  2. jaredrexclark September 16, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Random question that I have always had about marathon training.

    In what ways does one have to change their diet while training for a marathon?

    • Kim September 16, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

      It’s definitely an individual thing, but in general you need to make sure you’re getting enough calories and protein to meet your daily needs, fuel your exercise and recover adequately!

      • jaredrexclark September 16, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

        Thank you!!

        I admire anyone who trains and runs for a marathon, because it takes a lot of focus and time. I have never run one but I have heard the training is the hardest part.

        I wish you the best as you train!!!
        Jared

  3. Karaara September 16, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Awesome job this week 🙂 I finally went to yoga too…I really need to go more often, it felt so great. And go Team Ellen!! Yay TNT! 🙂

    • Kim September 16, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

      Thanks, Kara! I think we could all use a little more yoga in our lives!

  4. Jen September 17, 2013 at 4:12 am #

    I have SUPER missed yoga while being on the road (and my body is suffering!). Looks like you had another great week of training!

    Those ladies will be lucky to have you cheering for them! I’ve heard tales of your cheering greatness 😉

  5. Beth @RxBethOnTheRun September 18, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    I’m so proud of you for pushing through on Thursday when you really wanted to give up. That will MAJORLY pay off for you come the marathon. Awesome splits on Tuesday…you’re SO fast. This week is going to be awesome! I KNOW you can do it! 18 solo miles=you can do anything!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marathon Training: Week 10 | KH Nutrition - September 23, 2013

    […] last week, when I said I was scared about this week’s workouts?  Turns out I had reason to be.  This […]

  2. My Best of 2013! | KH Nutrition - December 31, 2013

    […] ran a lot.  You can check out some my weekly marathon training recaps here, here and […]

  3. Big News & My Pre-Training Plan | KH Nutrition - February 13, 2014

    […] know I signed up to run the Philadelphia Marathon last fall, as my first marathon ever.  I trained for almost 4 months before it fell apart and my marathon didn’t happen.  To be quite honest, […]

Leave a Reply

