Marathon Training: Week 10

23 Sep

Remember last week, when I said I was scared about this week’s workouts?  Turns out I had reason to be.  This week was TOUGH.  I did strength, crosstraining, speedwork and a freakin 20 mile long run!  I’m more than halfway through my training cycle and  other than some normal aches, pains and fatigue, I’m feeling great.  So let’s recap this week:

Monday: Refine sweat date with Beth & Allison.  Katie had us do lots of weighted squats, side lunges, single-leg deadlifts, etc.  Ouch!

Tuesday: Coach  gave me 7 miles with 3 mile repeats @ 8:25 pace!!! Who does she think I am giving me those paces?! 🙂  I ended up only running 6.5 miles because I was running late and my actual mile repeats were 8:24, 8:27, 8:29.  Holy crap.  You guys, running fast is HARD.  Especially after taking Refine less than 12 hours before! But as much as I despise speedwork, it kind of felt good to push myself and realize I could hit these paces.  It was exhausting and I was uncomfortable the whole time, but I guess that’s the point.  And as an added bonus-I accidentally PR’ed my 5k distance!  Moral of the story-If you want to get faster, hire a running coach. 

Wednesday: Another sweat date with Beth & Allison, this time at FlyWheel!  My legs were still incredibly sore from Refine and the speedwork Tuesday morning probably didn’t help.  This class was a special 60-minute ride with both Dani and Ryan, with an awesome playlist from their trip to London.  I don’t think I was able to hit any of the numbers they were calling out, but I still worked up a serious sweat. 

Thursday: 7 easy miles with six 1-minute pick-ups (10:15 average pace).  My legs were still sore and I felt pretty slow (even during the pick-ups) but I didn’t care.  7 miles before 7am is always a success!

Friday: Rest.  Thank goodness!

Saturday: Unplanned rest day.  Coach had 3 easy miles on the schedule, but I ended up skipping it and taking another rest day. 

Sunday: 20 mile long run (10:19 average pace), including NYRR Fifth Avenue Mile race

20130923-105732.jpg

Love these ladies!

I had signed up for the Fifth Ave Mile race to meet my NYRR 9+1 requirements, not realizing that I’d have to do it during a (very) long run.  Since I knew I wouldn’t want to run 19 miles AFTER running one really fast, I decided to do it smack in the middle of the run!  I got up early and over Queensboro into Manhattan for 8 miles before meeting up with Beth for a 1 mile warm-up.  Abby said I should have no problem running a 7:45, but I wasn’t so sure, especially with 9 miles on my legs and 10 more to go after.  I haven’t done a 1 mile timed race since high school, so really had no idea how to “race” this.  It was strange running in a wave by age group rather than pace, because I couldn’t base my speed off of anyone else.  When the gun went off, I tried to start conservatively but ended up going out really fast.  When I hit the 1/4 mile marker, I pulled it back and tried to keep my pace anywhere under 8-min miles.  At the 3/4 mile marker, I pushed it a little more and before I knew it the race was over.  Official result: 7:20 pace!  (WHAT?!) The scarier part is I think I could’ve pushed more if I knew what I was doing and if I wasn’t nervous about the 10 additional miles I would be running!  Insane.

I quickly found Abby, her friend and Steph after the race and we did some NYRR/MarathonFoto modeling while we waited for the rest of the girls to finish.  The photographers just couldn’t get enough of us!

20130923-113042.jpg

MarathonFoto loves us!

 

 

Everyone ran amazing PRs (or really close to it) for this race and I couldn’t be more proud of my awesome runner friends!!! Especially Beth, for knocking 38 seconds off her mile PR!  Ridiculous!

After the race, Beth, Allison, Steph and I finished our long runs together.  We ran North along the East River, through Central Park to the West Side and down the WSH.  The other girls were running anywhere from 8-12 miles and it was awesome to have them with me during my last 10.  They definitely helped me keep my pace up, made sure I was feeling okay and made those miles fly by!  Thanks, ladies! xo

20 freakin miles!

I finished 20 miles, feeling good and super proud of myself.  I woke up a little creaky and have a few pains today, but I feel so much better than I expected! 

Total weekly mileage:  33.5

I have to say, I had a pretty kickass week of training.  I know it’s still a few months away, but I finally feel like I CAN RUN THIS MARATHON!  Bring it on, Week 11!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

14 Responses to “Marathon Training: Week 10”

  1. mburton0214 September 23, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    Super inspiring Kim! Keep up the most excellent work!

    • Kim September 23, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Thanks so much!

  2. Beth September 23, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    BEST. WEEKLY RECAP. EVER. I loved loved loved this post. You kicked SO MUCH ass this week. I hope you are so proud of yourself. I’m INSANELY proud of you!!!!! You are going to CRUSH your first marathon and I can’t wait to be there to cheer you on. You really amaze and inspire me with your strength and determination. A 7:20 mile in the middle of your FIRST 20 MILE RUN is beyond outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep up the amazing work! You are dominating this training cycle.

    • Kim September 23, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

      Thanks, Beth! I’m very proud of myself! Couldn’t do it without my long run buddy though!

  3. Kara September 23, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    Yeahh girl!!! So amazing!!! Way to crush the week 🙂

    • Kim September 23, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      Thanks, Kara! 🙂

  4. Allison September 23, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Awesome training week! Refine and flywheel classes were killers this week. It was great running with you on Sunday. Made my long run go by real quick. 🙂

  5. kristin a miller September 23, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    YOU’RE AWESOME! You can totally run a marathon!!! So proud of you. It’s going to be amazing!!!

    • Kim September 23, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      Thank you!!! Let’s sweat together ASAP!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Marathon Training: Week 11 | KH Nutrition - October 1, 2013

    […] Last week was a kick-ass week of training.  This week has been a mess and mentally kicked my ass.  After my 20-miler (with one speedy mile) on Sunday, I felt great.  The days following, I started feeling (or making up) various pains and injuries.  My hip, where I had a stress fracture 4 years ago, has been achy all week.  Toward the end of the week, despite not really running as planned, my knee and ITB started acting up.  Needless to say, this week has been a serious struggle for me.  I played it smart and skipped a few workouts, ran very low mileage, and used the foam roller and stick a ton.  I know this is/was the right thing to do, but can’t help feeling discouraged and disappointed in my training this week.  Let’s recap: […]

  2. Marathon Training: Week 12 | KH Nutrition - October 8, 2013

    […] nervous. Not because the countdown is on, but because I am not feeling 100%.  After my 20-miler in Week 10, I began feeling tightness in my hip, which has since moved into IT band pain as well.  I’m […]

  3. My Year in Running-2013! | KH Nutrition - December 10, 2013

    […] run? The time I ran 20 miles (with one REALLY fast mile in the middle).  Although I’m pretty sure this run was the […]

  4. My Best of 2013! | KH Nutrition - December 31, 2013

    […] I ran a lot.  You can check out some my weekly marathon training recaps here, here and here. […]

  5. Big News & My Pre-Training Plan | KH Nutrition - February 13, 2014

    […] I signed up to run the Philadelphia Marathon last fall, as my first marathon ever.  I trained for almost 4 months before it fell apart and my marathon didn’t happen.  To be quite honest, I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

