Marathon Training: Week 12

8 Oct

It’s crazy to me that there are only 6 weeks left until race day.  I won’t lie, I’m getting nervous. Not because the countdown is on, but because I am not feeling 100%.  After my 20-miler in Week 10, I began feeling tightness in my hip, which has since moved into IT band pain as well.  I’m still able to run, but it’s pretty achy and not going away with stretching and rolling.  This week I have an appointment with my sports MD and physical therapist, so I’m hopeful we’ll get it under control!  With all that said, week 12 was less than stellar and included A LOT of rest days.  Oh, and one super stellar race! 😉  Let’s recap:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 4 miles easy (9:20 avg pace).  I went out and kept up a pace that was wayyyy too fast for an easy run.  I think it was probably a combination of my extra energy and the fact that I wanted to feel okay to run.  It was really hot and humid out (isn’t it October?) but I felt good.  Then I foam rolled and used the stick like a good girl.

Wednesday: Rest.  Planned to spin, but cancelled for further rest.

Thursday: Rest

Friday: Rest, and a ridiculous 6.5 hour car ride from NYC to Corning, NY for Wineglass Half Marathon! 

Saturday: 3 mile shakeout run.  We decided to take our legs for a spin after sitting in the car all night, and we ended up running an out and back of the last 1.5 miles of the race course, which I was thankful for the next day!

Sunday: WINEGLASS HALF MARATHON (recap coming soon!) + 1 warm-up mile

1379492_10100281097764861_1931782874_n

Half Marathon #5-Complete!

Total weekly mileage: 21

My mileage is still lower than it should be, but I’m trying to play it smart for my BIG GOAL of finishing in Philly on November 17th!  Stay tuned… 🙂

TELL ME: How do you manage with an injury? Take extra rest days or push through? 

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

3 Responses to “Marathon Training: Week 12”

  1. Joey October 8, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

    When I had an IT band problem my coach recommended me adding single leg hip thrusts to my core routine. I ran through it and it took a few weeks, but eventually the problem went away.

  2. Jen October 8, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    Always extra rest if needed! Rest can help stop an ache from becoming an injury 🙂 Glad you were smart!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big News & My Pre-Training Plan | KH Nutrition - February 13, 2014

    […] up to run the Philadelphia Marathon last fall, as my first marathon ever.  I trained for almost 4 months before it fell apart and my marathon didn’t happen.  To be quite honest, I’ve been off […]

Leave a Reply

