Marathon “Training”: Week 15

27 Oct

Marathon madness is in full swing in NYC as everyone gets ready for the ING NYC Marathon next Sunday, November 3.  I LOVE this time of year in the city and couldn’t be more excited to cheer on so many friends for the NYCM.  At the same time, all the marathon excitement is tough for me, because I’m struggling to continue training for my own marathon.  This week wasn’t great, I skipped almost all of my scheduled runs and am still in a lot of pain.  Not fun.  But I’m still pushing through.  So here’s what happened in Week 15 of training (Can I even call this training anymore?)…

Monday: PT (I ❤ Spring Forward PT)

Tuesday: Once again, I attempted my scheduled 7 mile run…only to run a mile in excruciating pain, burst into tears and walk home defeated.  I’m a blast to be around these days…

Wednesday:  45 min BodyRide with Jason @ Revolve.  Spin does not hurt and I’m hoping I can spin my way to the marathon.  Makes sense, right?

Thursday:  PT+ 45 min spin class @ Flywheel with Abby.  Sweat + my favorite coach=good day!

Friday: Rest.  I felt a little achy after two days of spin and an intense PT session, so I didn’t even attempt a run.

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: This was supposed to be my 22 miler, but there was absolutely no way that was happening.  Since I was also registered for the NYRR Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff 5-miler as part of my 9+1 requirements for entry to the NYCM in 2014,  I knew I had to try to at least run/walk 5 miles.  I didn’t feel great when I woke up, but I did my PT stretches and headed into the city to meet my favorite running buddies.  As Beth, Kara, Steph and I ran a warm up mile to Central Park, I was in a little pain, but not so much that I needed to stop.  Or cry for that matter.  Good stuff.  I decided to start the race and just see how it felt.  I ran most of the race with Allison and although it felt like we were crawling, I never needed to stop.  There was pain, but not so much that I was hobbling and it never got any worse.  FINALLY!  6 miles total and amazing support/encouragement from my runner ladies.  Love you all!

photo

Kara, Allison, Steph, Me, Beth & Abby!

 

Total weekly mileage: 7 

This week has once again been an emotional roller coaster.  Last night I was in a lot of pain after 2 days of complete rest.  I couldn’t help but feel like marathon is slipping away from me.  And today wasn’t so bad and I was able to do 6 relatively painless miles.  I’m a mess and feel so thankful for and apologetic to anyone who dares ask me how I’m feeling!  I’m religiously doing my PT strengthening/stretching exercises twice a day.  Right now I have no choice to be positive and remain confident that I will get to run my marathon.  Either way, there are 3 weeks to go!  Stay tuned!

 

Tell me…how do you keep it together during tough days/weeks?  Have you ever DNS’ed your goal race?!  

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

6 Responses to “Marathon “Training”: Week 15”

  1. Beth October 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

    I’m SO HAPPY YOU HAD A GOOD RUN TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Every little step is progress and you are moving in the right direction. You are DEFINITELY still in this game. Take a look at my Week 15 “training” post and you will notice that it said Training Week 15 (sort of). Don’t you DARE give up! You keep working hard and being smart and fighting and WE WILL GET YOU TO THIS MARATHON!!!!!!!!!! Beak Up, my friend (I don’t just let anyone share that family saying)! Love you friend. You are still very much doing just fine for this marathon. I believe in you and I will be there (with your Mickey hands) cheering you on come November 17th!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Kim October 28, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

      You are a crazy commenter! And I love it. BEAK UP. xo

  2. Joey October 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    I’ve DNSed once. I have no idea why I even signed up for the race to begin with. Hope your last few weeks of training go well!

  3. Jen October 29, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    I’m SO sorry you’re dealing with pain right now, but you’re being smart and I know that will pay off in the long run! I never ran 22 miles, I didn’t have a peak week, and I still made it to the start line. You’re working hard at PT and I am crossing all of my fingers and toes that you’ll be running Philly!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Kim October 29, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

      Thanks, lady! Hopefully following in your footsteps! 🙂

  4. Kara October 30, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

    So great to run with you on Sunday! Stay smart – you have a lot of time! A marathon is going to happen for you in the future no matter what – you are so strong and have been working so hard. Keep taking it day by day. (And keep spinning – it helped me a ton!) Feel free to vent/chat with me anytime, I’ve been there and I know how it feels 😦

Leave a Reply

