Thanksgiving Thoughts & Running Scared

26 Nov

It’s Thanksgiving week and almost everywhere you look, blog posts, tweets and news articles are offering tips on how to have a healthier holiday.  Well, sorry…I’m not going to write one of those posts this year!  I do have plenty of recommendations for making Thanksgiving more nutritious while still delicious (and you can check some of them out in this article on weather.com!), but it seems like some people are sick of reading them.  And I totally get that.  I admit that I do enjoy reading these types of posts, I like to see what tricks other health professionals and bloggers have up their sleeves.  It’s helpful for me to find new recipes or learn weight management strategies that work for others.  I saw a tweet yesterday essentially begging us to stop the “How to Have a Healthier Holiday” posts and let people enjoy their day of indulgence.  Which is fine, for some people.  Some people have never struggled with their weight or battled issues with food…but for many, the environment surrounding food is a constant struggle.  Which is where these tips, tricks and advice come in handy!  It is helpful to be armed with a plan and strategies in order to succesfully reach your goals.

So here’s my quick two-cents:  Strive for balance during the holidays as best you can.  Make healthy swaps, try new recipes, focus on portion control. Or indulge if you choose to do so!  But be respectful of others and their needs, as you never know what battle(s) someone is fighting.  And of course, reach out to an RD if you want/need help finding your own healthy balance!

As for me, I’m very excited for Thanksgiving this year.  It’s not only a day filled with family and food, but this year Thanksgiving is the day I will attempt to return to running.  If you’re not up to date, my fall marathon training came to a halt with continued knee/hip/ITB issues and I haven’t run in almost ONE MONTH.  The doctor told me to take at least 2 full weeks off and I listened.  And when I didn’t feel complete relief, I added 2 more weeks for good measure!  I’ve been spinning, stretching and strengthening, but no running.  And I hate it.  It sounds cheesy, but I feel a void in my life and I can’t wait to get back on the road.  So on Thanksgiving, I’m signed up for a 5k Turkey Trot.  I have no idea how it’s going to feel and if I will even be able to finish the race.  But I’m excited to try.  Mostly terrified, but excited at the same time.  Stay tuned!  And Happy Thanksgiving to you all!

Now you tell me!  What is your Thanksgiving approach…Indulge once a year?  Or remain focused on healthy eating? Are you running a Turkey Trot?

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

9 Responses to “Thanksgiving Thoughts & Running Scared”

  1. Beth November 26, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    You’re going to be great on Thursday! I just feel it. Don’t be scared. Just go out there and have the best time you can. Smile. Run happy. I have a feeling you will surprise yourself. Can’t wait to hear how it goes. I love Thanksgiving. It’s, by far, holiday. Will try and keep it as healthy as possible. Starting the day off with a turkey trot (you will be missed)! I love starting the holidays off with a run. Wishing you nothing but the BEST OF LUCK on Thursday!!!!!!!

    • Kim November 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

      Thank you for your constant support & encouragement. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Steph November 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Sorry if this is a duplicate comment! I think my other one got eaten 🙂

    Good luck at the race, I hope it goes well!! Hope you have a great Thanksgiving too! I’m looking forward to indulging on Thursday! I’ve been eating really well for the past 3 weeks, so I can’t wait to eat all the food!

    • Kim November 27, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Thanks, my friend! I saw those pecan bar things you made…look amazing! Good luck at your TT too, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Jen November 27, 2013 at 3:44 am #

    I hope you have a fantastic run! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Kim November 27, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Thanks, love! Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

  4. artificiallybalanced November 27, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Sending lots of good thoughts and positivity to you girl! I hope your 5K goes great!!! happy thanksgiving! 🙂

    • Kim November 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Thanks so much, Jen!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Turkey Trot Success! | KH Nutrition - November 29, 2013

    […] with a turkey trot yesterday or intense Black Friday shopping today!  Earlier this week, I wrote about how I haven’t run in a month and how I was scared to try to run our local turkey trot. Well yesterday, I ran the 6th annual […]

Leave a Reply

