Turkey Trot Success!

29 Nov

Happy Friday! I hope you enjoyed Thanksgiving, and maybe burned off your calories with a turkey trot yesterday or intense Black Friday shopping today!  Earlier this week, I wrote about how I haven’t run in a month and how I was scared to try to run our local turkey trot. Well yesterday, I ran the 6th annual Ferncliff Forest Turkey Trot 5K in Rhinebeck, NY. 

1471270_10100320417213371_1289356466_n

I barely slept Wednesday night, it was 27 degrees (felt like 11!!!) and windy, but I was just happy to be lacing up my Asics again. Exactly one month from my last half-decent run (and race), I braved the cold and successfully ran 3.1 miles!  Plus maybe a mile warm-up.  My dad, my cousin Steph and her fiance all ran too and it was a great way to kick-off Thanksgiving morning!

photo 1

The family who runs together…?

I did not wear a Garmin and have no idea what my finish time was.  I also don’t care! I ran at a comfortable pace with my dad and Steph and it felt great.  I’m still not at 100% and there was a little tightness on the outside of my knee.  My hip is a bit achy today.  I have a long way to go to get stronger and back in training shape!  I also feel unbelievably sore today, but I guess that’s what zero running for 30 days will do to you!  But most importantly, I know I made a smart decision, I’m thankful I was able to run this 5K and I’m hopeful that I’ll get better and stronger from here! 

photo2

Thumbs up for running! 🙂

Did you run a Turkey Trot? What’s your favorite Thanksgiving tradition?  Tell me about it!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

5 Responses to “Turkey Trot Success!”

  1. artificiallybalanced November 29, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

    Yayyyy so happy to hear it went almost 100% well! 🙂 Love your running tights too!

    • Kim December 3, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

      Thanks! They’re Champion by Target! 🙂

  2. google api key March 15, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    Awesome post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Best of 2013! | KH Nutrition - December 31, 2013

    […] Thanksgiving, I ran a pain free 5k Turkey Trot with my dad, cousin and her […]

  2. Big News & My Pre-Training Plan | KH Nutrition - February 13, 2014

    […] off my fitness game ever since.  I didn’t run for almost 2 months before running a local Turkey Trot (pain-free!).  Since then, I’ve run on-and-off, I’ve been doing yoga, and […]

Leave a Reply

