My Year in Running-2013!

10 Dec

With only 3 weeks left in 2013, it’s time to start reflecting, right?  In 2012, I jumped on Miss Zippy’s Year in Running bandwagon and recapped MY year in running, so obviously I’m going to do it again this year.  I think it’s a fun way to look back on my adventures in running over the year and be thankful for my experiences and the awesome running community.  So without further ado…

Best race experience? Wineglass Half Marathon.  The race itself kind of sucked, as it was so disgustingly humid and I was struggling with ITB pain.  But the overall experience was incredible! We made a girls weekend of it so I got to spend the weekend with my favorite runner ladies: Beth, Abby, Allison, Nicole, Ashley, Kara and Silvia.  Talk about a good time!  And on top of that, I set a PR of almost 10 minutes!  Pretty sweet!

1379492_10100281097764861_1931782874_n

Oh hey, PR!

Best run? The time I ran 20 miles (with one REALLY fast mile in the middle).  Although I’m pretty sure this run was the beginning of the end for my fall marathon training, at the time it was great.  I ran with my best running buddies, pushed my limits, hit a PDR and clocked a 7:20 for the 5th Avenue Mile.  It was awesome. 

20 freakin miles!

20 freakin miles!

Best new piece of gear?  Camelbak. I received the Camelbak LR vest to review and was surprised at how much I loved it.  It kept me hydrated through every disgustingly hot long run! 

20130824-133205

Camelbak Ultra LR

 

Best piece of running advice you received? “Keep your beak up!”  A little birdie passed this sentimental advice on to me and it helped me through my running struggles this year.  No matter what obstacles I ran into, I’d be reminded to stay positive, keep fighting and become stronger.

Most inspirational runner? This one goes to Miss #IronKara.  Seriously, if you’re looking for some inspiration, go check this lady out.  In 2013 alone, she became an IronMan (raising $10,000 for TNT/Leukemia and Lymphoma Society in the process) and PR’ed the marathon by 44 MINUTES!  Oh, and then ran another marathon two weeks later.  NBD.  Kara is easily one of the nicest and most sincere people I know and I’m so thankful to have met her this year! 

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? PRs, PDRs and PAIN!  😉 

Join me in the recapping fun!  What was your 2013 like (running or not!)?

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

5 Responses to “My Year in Running-2013!”

  1. misszippy1 December 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    That’s some serious fundraising Kara did–no wonder she is your pick! And I’m impressed that you had such a big PR on a hot, humid day while struggling with injury. Way to go. And I’m stealing your “keep your beak up” mantra b/c right now I need it! Thanks for joining in.

  2. Jen December 10, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    I love reading these so much! I think it’s so interesting how people reflect on their training and races. I know the end of the year didn’t go quite as you planned, but you absolutely nailed that half marathon PR!

  3. Kara December 10, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    I am crying!! Kim, you are so sweet!! Thank you so much for those kind words. You made my day. Or more so, my whole MONTH! You are so awesome and I’m extremely grateful to have you as a friend. I can’t wait to run with you again soon! Or you know, just get drinks 🙂

    Oh and Wineglass definitely was the BEST race-weekend experience. Probably my top 5 of all time.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Best of 2013! | KH Nutrition - December 31, 2013

    […] with regards to my big goal of training for and running a marathon. Since I already recapped my year in running, I figured it might be fun to do a post with this year’s highlights not just in […]

  2. Intentions for 2014 | KH Nutrition - January 15, 2014

    […] I already recapped my 2013 in running and in life. And of course I realize we’re already two weeks into the new year! But I never […]

Leave a Reply

