Weekend Eats

30 Dec

One of my very favorite things about having my own apartment again is having my own kitchen! I just love cooking and baking, whether it’s for me and the boyfriend to enjoy, or to share with others! Last week, I made #allthecookies and gave them away as gifts, not knowing the bf would surprise me with a Christmas gift that could’ve made all that baking a bit easier…a Kitchen Aid! 

1546425_10100340449503501_719059153_n

My shiny new friend!

Dang, he’s good! 

This weekend was my first chance to put my Kitchen Aid to use and since I was am so sick of cookies/baked goods for the time being, I turned to Pinterest for some inspiration.  I came across this pin for copycat Olive Garden breadsticks and was immediately sold.  As a runner, you know I love carbs and who doesn’t love those garlic-y breadsticks at OG?!  Yum!  The recipe is super easy to follow and the result is spot on!  Just make sure you have enough people to share these with…I didn’t realize it would make 12 breadsticks, which is way too many for 2 of us! Therefore, boyfriend is under strict instructions to get these out of the apartment today…Who wants some? 😉

1554400_10100343137067601_1469107719_n

Left: Dough hook in action, Right: Final product!

Breadsticks aren’t exactly a part of my weekly food prep, so I was still in need of an idea for lunches and dinners this week.  Pinterest to the rescue again!  I found this Sweet potato, quinoa & black bean casserole recipe and was excited to give it a shot.  I had most of the ingredients in my pantry already and it was quick and easy to prep. It’s also vegetarian, but really tasty and high in protein and fiber!

casserole5

Ready to bake!

It looked & smelled so good, I served myself some up for dinner last night, topped with sliced avocado and a dollop of greek yogurt! 

Since we’re discussing my weekend of food, I can’t forget to share what we tried for breakfast yesteday.  For a while now, I’ve been making “paleo”-style pancakes, using just an egg, a mashed banana and some nut butter for batter.  I like them because they’re healthy, super quick and easy to make but still feel like an indulgent breakfast!  Yesterday, I switched it up by making pancakes using almond meal.  The batch I made was totally experimental, but included almond meal, eggs, banana, cinnamon and honey. 

securedownload

Almond meal pancakes!

Boyfriend mixed up some Fage 2% Greek yogurt and blackberries to top our pancakes with.  I also drizzled mine with a little extra honey!  So good.  I’m sure we’ll try these again and I’ll hopefully have a recipe to share.

So that was my weekend of eating, mostly healthy but some indulgences of course! What did you have this weekend?  Do you have any recipes to share?

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

2 Responses to “Weekend Eats”

  1. Allison December 30, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Yes – I pinned Sweet potato, quinoa & black bean casserole recipe! I’m making it this week. 🙂

    • Kim December 31, 2013 at 12:20 am #

      Awesome. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

