Intentions for 2014

15 Jan

So I already recapped my 2013 in running and in life. And of course I realize we’re already two weeks into the new year! But I never assessed my 2013 goals and set my intentions for 2014! Oops. Better late than never?  I hope so…let’s do it!

In 2013, my big goals were to…

PR in the half-marathon (sub 2:05, specifically).  Check!  I crushed my PR and ran 2:00:50 at the Wineglass Half Marathon in October. 

Strength train 2x/week. Pretty big fail.  Maybe Probably the reason I got injured and was unable to complete training for the Philly Marathon.

Do one unassisted pull-up.  Success.  I think I did this ONCE at the gym last year.  Another carryover to 2014!  Maybe the crazy crossfit boyfriend can help me achieve this one! 😉

Complete 9+1 NYRR races for guaranteed entry to the 2014 NYC Marathon. DONE!  This is not easy to do and ends up costing a lot of money (I refuse to add up how much), but thankfully it is done! NYCM, here I com, I think…?

Do at least 3 races outside of NY state. Fail.  I ran the Cherry Blossom 10-miler in D.C. and the Peachtree Road Race in Atlanta…And I SHOULD have completed this goal with the Philadelphia Marathon, but we know how that turned out…Oh well.

Give back.  Definite success. I could always do more, but this year one of my favorite ways I gave back was participating in the Winter Wishes program with NY Cares.  Check out some of the other ways I suggest giving back here.

Say yes more. I’m not really sure what this meant to me at the time…and it’s certainly not the smartest goal I’ve ever set (Bad RD!) because it’s not really specific or measurable.  But I like to think I’ve been pretty open to whatever has been sent my way!

Now on to my intentions for 2014!  I really liked Kara’s post on her 2014 goals, because she also created a plan to how she would achieve her goals, so I’m using her as inspiration when setting mine. I’m also going to keep my goals short and simple this year.

1.  Run a freakin marathon.  This wasn’t even part of my goals at the beginning of last year, but quickly became a dream for the fall.  And then it fell flat.  So 2014 it is!  I’m definitely IN for the NYC Marathon, although I’m not 100% sold that I want it to be my first marathon.  (Thoughts?)

What I need to do to make it happen:

  • Avoid injury (duh!) by focusing on strength training, stretching, PT, foam rolling, etc. 
  • Enlist the help of my awesome coach (again).
  • Run smart.  Do not make myself crazy over paces or hitting every assigned run.  Less stress!

2.  Sub-2 Half Marathon. Because I was 50 stinkin seconds away from it.

What I need to do to make it happen:

  • Same as above.  Plus some speedwork, I’m assuming.  Right, coach? 😉

3.  Find happiness in my work.  Don’t get me wrong, I love being a dietitian.  I just don’t love my current work situation.  I want to work on the wellness side of nutrition and help people live healthier lives and prevent disease, rather than treat it like I do now in a clinical setting. 

What I need to do to make it happen:

  • Continue job search
  • Dedicate more time to growing KH Nutrition and my personal business
  • Learn, learn, learn!  New nutrition research is always being released and updated so I need to stay on top of the latest information and trends.

4.  Focus on strengthening relationships with my family, friends and the boyfriend. 

What I need to do to make it happen:

  • Remind myself often how lucky I am to have these amazing people in my life
  • Schedule time to visit, call, text & e-mail
  • Snuggle & take lots of naps with nephew 🙂

That’s it! Just a few not-so-little goals that I know I can achieve.  Bring it on, 2014!

Did you set your New Year’s goals yet?  What are you hoping to accomplish in 2014?  Tell me about it!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

3 Responses to “Intentions for 2014”

  1. Annie Hauser (@anniehauser) January 15, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

    Love these intentions! And the plans to make them happen!

  2. Kara January 15, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

    I’m joining you for sub 2! (Although you’re a lot closer than I am!) I also love your goal about finding happiness in your work. Also, if you need an assistant with your new business, I will make myself available 🙂

  3. Beth January 31, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Great intentions for 2014! I’m already so proud of you and it’s barely February. I KNOW sub-2 will happen for you this year if you choose to go for it. And YES YES YES you are running a freaking marathon this year! I often remind myself how lucky I am to have YOU in my life!

Leave a Reply

