Crockpot Cooking: Brown Rice Pudding

17 Jan

Happy Friday!  Who is excited about a 3-day weekend?!  I know I am.  I’m looking forward to catching up with old friends tonight and getting a few miles in with my running buddies in Central Park on Sunday! 🙂

So last night I posted this picture on Instagram:

brownricepudding

Mmm..brown rice pudding!

I immediately got requests for the recipe, so here we go!  Yesterday, while driving home from work I got a serious craving for something sweet.  Somehow the thought of rice pudding came to mind, so when I got home I busted out the crockpot and searched for a good recipe.  Of course I wanted to make a healthier version of traditional rice pudding, using less cream/milk and sugar.

I came across a few recipes calling for brown rice (which we happen to have a TON of) and coconut milk for flavor.  Jackpot! I used this recipe as a base, but I’ll write out what I did exactly below!  Now I hate coconut and coconut-flavored anything, but boyfriend loves it and we always have coconut milk on hand.  We also just found coconut sugar at Trader Joe’s, so were looking for a reason to put it to use.  I knew the coconut would add a little creaminess and some healthy fat to the recipe, but I was hoping the flavor would cook off and not overpower the pudding.  And I was right! 🙂

 

The final product was so good.  It’s not too sweet, definitely not too “coconut-y” (phew!) and would even be perfect for breakfast! I hope you enjoy!

Crockpot Brown Rice Pudding

Makes 4 servings

2/3 cup brown rice (I used Uncle Ben’s)

1 can (14oz) light coconut milk (Trader Joe’s)

1 1/2 cups reduced fat milk (2%)

1/3 cup coconut sugar

2 Tbsp light brown sugar

1 Tablespoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.  Combine rice, milks, sugar and cinnamon in crockpot.

2.  Cook (stirring occasionally) for one hour on high heat, one hour on low heat.  {This may vary by slow cooker. I started on high because I wanted it done quicker 😉 }

3.  When rice is almost fully cooked, stir in vanilla extract and cover crockpot for another 10 minutes.

4.  Serve and enjoy!

Nutrition facts (per serving) 210 calories, 6.7g fat, 4g protein, 0.5g fiber

 

Are you a coconut fan?  Do you have a good rice pudding recipe to share?  Good plans for the 3-day weekend?  Tell me about it…

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

 

 

2 Responses to “Crockpot Cooking: Brown Rice Pudding”

  1. Kelly FlatEleven January 17, 2014 at 2:21 pm #

    This looks delish. I love the idea of sneaking in healthy at all opportunities and for some reason I’ve never thought to use brown rice for this, great idea! X

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crostatine integrali con riso speziato | La Caccavella - February 20, 2014

    […] Crockpot Cooking: Brown Rice Pudding […]

Leave a Reply

