Big News & My Pre-Training Plan

13 Feb

Good morning, friends!! I have some scary exciting news today.  I am officially IN for the NYC Marathon this fall!

nycm

I completed the 9+1 program last year with NYRR to receive guaranteed entry, and yesterday I forked over the $227 my registration.  So, pending injury or other disaster, I’ll be running 26.2 miles through my favorite city on November 2nd!!!

I’m super excited about this, but mostly terrified.  If you’ve been following me for a while, you know I signed up to run the Philadelphia Marathon last fall, as my first marathon ever.  I trained for almost 4 months before it fell apart and my marathon didn’t happen.  To be quite honest, I’ve been off my fitness game ever since.  I didn’t run for almost 2 months before running a local Turkey Trot (pain-free!).  Since then, I’ve run on-and-off, I’ve been doing yoga, and have taken some spin classes.  But I’ve had no structure and running has really been put on the back burner.  Partially because I had no goal race to work toward and partially because I’m scared.  I do NOT want to get injured again. So I’ve been focusing less on mileage and more on strength and stretching.  Which I know is great and will help me in the long run, but still…to run a marathon, you kinda have to run!

Since I’m feeling good, I also signed up (along with what seems like every other person in the NYC area) to run the Brooklyn Half Marathon in May.  Brooklyn will be my big spring race!  I have no idea yet if I’ll be gunning for a PR (I’m looking at you, sub-2!), but I’m still excited to get back to training at the end of the month.

1379492_10100281097764861_1931782874_n

Current half PR @ Wineglass! 2:00:50

I have A LOT of work to do before  training starts in a few weeks.  My mileage has been SO low (like 4-8 miles per week!!!) and I’m nervous about amping it up.  Naturally, I started panicking…so I reached out to coach and asked her to make me a pre-training training plan.  Yep, we runners are a crazy bunch, huh?  Of course, I know how to increase my distance to build a base.  But having a plan holds me accountable…and not just to myself!  Thankfully, coach is understanding.  She knows it’s important to me to be smart and build slowly to prevent injury.  She doesn’t think knows I’m crazy and works with it!  🙂 Actually, she agreed it was a good idea for me to get back on track before training starts. {Thanks, Abby! 🙂 }

So that’s what I’m doing.  The plan is to run 3 days a week, building up to 10-15 miles/week.  I’m also going to continue strength workouts (2-3 days/week) and aim for at least one yoga session each week.  And we’ll see how that goes!  Hopefully, the weather cooperates and I won’t have to do ALL of my runs on a stupid treadmill!  I mean seriously, how do people do more than 3 miles on that thing?  Gross.  And more importantly, let’s hope my body (KNEE!) cooperates and I remain healthy during training!

 

Are you training for a spring race/event?  Running the NYC Marathon in the fall?  How has the weather impacted you?  Do you LOVE the treadmill (and if so, what’s wrong with you?!) Tell me about it!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

5 Responses to “Big News & My Pre-Training Plan”

  1. sarahdudek80 February 13, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    So awesome. Congrats and good luck!

    • Kim February 13, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’m pumped!

  2. kristin miller February 13, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    YAHOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So excited!!! You are going to be great and you will have a gigantic cheer squad spread throughout the 5 boroughs!

  3. Beth February 14, 2014 at 10:53 am #

    This is SO EXCITING!!!!!!!!!’ So sad I won’t be running the Brooklyn Half with my favorite running buddy but CAN’T WAIT to start marathon training together again! Love you buddy. I KNOW you are going to be strong and absolutely rock training AND the NYC Marathon. Can’t wait to do it all together! NYCM14, here we come!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday Ramblings | KH Nutrition - February 25, 2014

    […] few weeks back, I also wrote about how I registered for the NYC Marathon (eek!) and my plan to tackle the pre-training period for the Brooklyn Half Marathon.  Well, […]

Leave a Reply

