My First Stitch Fix

20 Feb

Hi there!  You guys know this is by no means a fashion blog and I am not the most fashionable person.  Unless you count my uncanny ability to accessorize for long runs…;)

20 freakin miles!

That being said, I recently jumped on the Stitch Fix bandwagon and thought it might be fun to share my experience with all of you! 

What is Stitch Fix and how does it work?

It’s a personal styling service that ships you a package of 5 clothing items/accessories.  You complete a style profile and provide preferences or requests for what types of items you’d like to receive.  StitchFix charges a $20 styling fee when your fix ships, which can be applied as a credit toward any item(s) you keep.  You get to try on your items in the convenience of your own home and decide what you want to keep or return.  Stitch Fix provides a prepaid envelope to mail back returns within 3 days.  To pay for your items, you simply log onto your account and check out!  If you decide to keep all 5 items, you receive 25% off the entire order.

[Disclosure:  This is not a sponspored post and I am not receiving compensation from Stitch Fix.  However, it does contain referral links, for which I receive Stitch Fix credit should you decide to sign up using these links.  Obviously, I would greatly appreciate that and you can then pass along your referral links to family and friends to receive your own credits!]

So why Stitch Fix?  If you know me at all, you know I hate shopping. Or rather, I hate shopping in stores. I despise waiting in line and end up having to wait in line for a dressing room and then AGAIN to checkout!? Ugh. No, thank you. When I do go clothes shopping, I often buy items without trying them on and return them later if they don’t work.  Or I do a lot of online shopping.  And let’s be honest…I mostly just shop for the sweat-wicking type of clothing I wear most often! 🙂  But after reading several blog reviews about Stitch Fix, I was intrigued! 

I signed up back in January, filled out my style profile and scheduled a fix for mid-February (there was a little bit of a wait).  I listened to the advice of other bloggers, and was REALLY detailed in my profile.  It felt like I was being annoying and too picky, but I’d rather get specific so I don’t waste a fix on items I don’t like!  I also created a “style” board on Pinterest and linked that to Stitch Fix

My fix arrived yesterday, and I was so excited to break into it!  I had seen the item names online (it shows up when your fix ships), so I had some idea of what I’d receive but wasn’t able to find images through google searches.  And I had no idea what colors I was getting!IMG_4871 

The fix includes a personal note from the stylist with some info on the pieces and why she chose them for me!  It also includes cards with ideas of how to style each item, which is awesome.

IMG_4869 

So let’s see what I got…

IMG_4900

Mary Mixed Metal Bib Necklace ($38)

I had written that I like statement necklaces in my profile, so they definitely paid attention to that.  I love the gold and silver together in this piece.  Unfortunately, I think the chain part of this necklace looks a little cheap and I wasn’t sure it was worth $38.  IMG_4902

Leti Crochet Knit Tank ($48)

When I pulled this out of the box, I was confused.  It’s black (I LOVE all things black, but told my stylist I wasn’t really interested in receiving black since I have so much) and is actually two pieces, a plain spaghetti strap tank with a crochet top tank.  It’s really soft, but it was too short for my liking.

IMG_4889

IMG_4887

Donatella Striped Knit Shirt ($58)

This is a cream/hunter green striped sweater, with holes accenting the top.  At first, I was unimpressed, especially for the $58 price tag, but when I put it on I kind of fell in love.  It’s SO comfy and fit pretty well.  It’s also unlike anything else in my closet right now.  I could easily wear this to work or with skinny jeans and flats for a casual look.

IMG_4891

IMG_4896

Ashland Chevron Print Dress ($78)

Love at first sight.  I had told the stylist I love chevron (and don’t care if the trend is over) and bright pops of color.  The blue on this dress is fantastic and the fit is great.  It got a big “wow!” from the boyfriend when I put it on…so it’s definitely a keeper!

IMG_4878

Adora Skinny Jean ($88)

I put in my profile that I love skinny jeans, but struggle to find a good fit because A) I have giant calves and quads and B) I’m short.  I have a few pair of denim ones I love, so I asked for a colored pair.  She sent me this mint green, which I love in theory…but wasn’t sure how they looked on.  Once again, the boyfriend LOVED them…but he’s not a girl.  I felt like the light color showed off my bulging legs and the length was way off.  Check out how much material is bunched at my ankles!  Otherwise, they fit my waist and butt and the material is really soft!IMG_4901

Final verdict:  I kept everything.  I was originally leaning toward returning everything except the dress and striped sweater. But I did like the necklace a lot (other than the chain) and was worried I would regret not keeping it.  And I was pursuaded to keep the mint green skinnies and have them hemmed.  The only thing I’m not sure I’ll wear is the crochet tank, but honestly it was cheaper to keep it all (I got the 25% off) than to return just one item.

Total price: $187.50 (includes the $20 styling fee, 25% off and 2 referral credits)

Overall, I loved this experience and service.  It’s more than I would normally spend on shopping, but I think it’s worth it to add a few items to my wardrobe when I want/need.  I’m not going to sign up monthly, but I did I already schedule another fix for my birthday in May.  Happy Birthday to me!  I loved being able to try things on in my own home and not have to wait in line!  It also was helpful to have access to all of the items I would pair the items with…shoes, jeans, etc.  And of course it was nice to have boyfriend (and Rocky) around to take photos and give me feedback.

If you’re interested in trying Stitch Fix out for yourself, feel free to use my referral link!  Thanks! 🙂

What do you think of my first fix?  What would you have kept?? Have you tried Stitch Fix for yourself? 

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

4 Responses to “My First Stitch Fix”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday Ramblings | KH Nutrition - February 25, 2014

    […] of all, it seems like everyone loved my Stitch Fix post from last week!  I have to admit, it was kind of fun to play dress up and post about something […]

  2. Stitch Fix #2-May 2014 | KH Nutrition - May 7, 2014

    […] Fix #2 arrived! Finally.  If you don’t yet know what Stitch Fix is, read my first review here…or click on over to their site (referral […]

  3. Stitch Fix #3 | KH Nutrition - July 17, 2014

    […] those who don’t know about Stitch Fix yet (how can you not?!), you read more about it in my first post.  And you can check out my second fix here.  I can’t say enough how fun of a service this […]

  4. Stitch Fix #4-Back on Track | KH Nutrition - September 9, 2014

    […] Friday, my fourth Stitch Fix arrived!  {For more on Stitch Fix and what in entails, check out my first post.} You may remember that my last Fix was a total disappointment, so I was really looking forward to […]

Leave a Reply

