Brooklyn Half Training Week 8

28 Apr

Happy Monday, friends! I hope you all had a good week.  I know mine was a little hectic, but I still managed to have a pretty good week of training.  Let’s get right to it…

Monday 4/21-My CrossFit buddy needed to skip and the weather was absolutely perfect after work.  So I decided to bite the bullet and do my Tuesday scheduled run tonight instead.  The workout was 6 miles-1 warmup, 2 @ 8:45 pace with 800m recovery and 2 cool down.  This was tough for me, but I got it done.  My “fast” miles were actually 8:40 and 8:33.  Boom!

Tuesday 4/22-Rest.  And lots of stretching/sticking/foam rolling. 🙂

Wednesday 4/23CrossFit-We worked on squats again.  Air squats, front squats, overhead squats….squats, squats, squats!  Then mini wod went like this:

20sec max reps front squat (35lb)

10 sec rest

20 sec max burpees

1 min rest

Repeat for 5 rounds.

My max reps for squats was 11 and 8 for burpees.  Gah.

Thursday 4/24-I originally planned to do my run in the morning and CrossFit at night.  Then I changed my mind and opted to sleep in.  So no run, but still made it to CrossFit.  We warmed up with jump roping and burpees (so much fun!) and then did a review on Strict Press, Push Press and Push Jerks.

WOD:

21-15-9

Push Jerk (I used the 35lb barbell)

Bastards (aka burpees over the bar)

So that means we did 21 push jerks, 21 bastards, 15 push jerks, 15 bastards, 9 push jerks, and finally 9 bastards.  We didn’t use the clock, so not sure what my time was..but holy crap was I spent after this.

20140425-111623.jpg

This is my CF buddy, Liz…Hi Liz, welcome to the blog! 🙂

Friday 4/25-Rest

Saturday 4/26-10 miles with last two at 8:54 pace.  I waited out the rain and ran a little later in the Massapequa Preserve.  I fueled using dates stuffed with peanut butter and sprinkled with a little sea salt.  It worked out beautifully!  🙂

10mi

Sunday 4/27-I planned on doing yoga, but I never got to it.  Rest!

Weekly mileage:  16 

I didn’t get too much mileage in, but still had 4 solid workouts so I’m feeling good.  And I’m excited to start using more natural fuel during runs.  Tell me…what’s your favorite long run fuel?  Do you use real food or Gu/chews/chomps?  Just water?  Let’s chat about it!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

2 Responses to “Brooklyn Half Training Week 8”

  1. Beth May 8, 2014 at 2:41 am #

    I will deny it if asked, but I’m excited to try Cross Fit with you this fall. I’m ready to get fit and strong like my buddy. You look absolutely amazing! Keep up the great work. #hardworkpaysoff

    • Kim May 12, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

      Yay!!! You’re coming to CrossFit with me! I have it in writing…

Leave a Reply

