Brooklyn Half Training Week 9

5 May

Hi friends!  Another Monday, another week of training down.  There are less than 2 weeks until the Brooklyn Half marathon and I’m feeling ready.  Last long run is done and we’re officially in half-marathon taper town!  Let’s recap:

Monday 4/28: CrossFit 516.  Okay, beginner’s classes are starting to get repetitive now. It’s most definitely time to move on to regular classes, but we’re getting our moneys worth on this deal!  And I appreciate truly breaking down and learning lifts and technique, so I’m kind of fine with it.  This class, we reviewed Sumo Dead Lift High Pulls and medicine ball cleans.  Followed by a WOD:

5 rounds for time-

10 SDHPS with KB (I used 25lb)

20 situps

Tuesday 4/29: 6 mile progression run.  I really really really did not want to do this run.  It was cold, on the verge of raining and I just wanted to snuggle up with Rocky.  But I got out there and did it.  It was supposed to be a 1 mile warm-up, followed by 9:45, 9:30, 9:15, 9:00, and a 1 mile cool-down.  My middle splits ended up being 9:37, 9:32, 9:12 and 8:52.  Close enough!  🙂

Wednesday 4/30: Crossfit. We started out with a warm-up then played a quick game of duck, duck, goose.  Ha! But don’t worry…we worked out too!

EMOM (Every minute on the minute) for 16 minutes:
Odd-5 Hang power clean (I used the 15kg barbell)
Even-10 hand release push-ups

This didn’t seem too bad, but we were really focusing on perfect form for the cleans and those push-ups started to catch up to me toward the end.

Thursday 5/1: Rest.  I had 4 easy miles on the schedule, and instead went to the Yankee game with the bf, my cousin, and her fiance.  Shit happens. 😉

yankess

He’s not a baseball guy, but he’s a good sport. 🙂

Friday 5/2: Rest.  And some serious stretching.  I sat in pigeon for a very long time.

Saturday 5/3: 12 mile long run.  I got up early and drove into NYC to run with my buddies.  Because guess what?! My favorite running buddy is back in action.  Allison, Beth, Tina and I ran a few easy miles on the lower loop of Central Park and then Allison and I continued on to finish our long runs.  We went North to the 100s before taking the transverse East [shocker, we skipped Harlem Hill ;)] and hit up the West Side Highway.

Hello, NYC.  Good to see you again!

Hello, NYC. Good to see you again!

Abby put some speedy miles into my long run this week, so I ended up with a few miles around 9min pace and the rest easy.  It felt good to push my pace and definitely gave me more confidence for Brooklyn.  Big thank you to Allison for running with me…and keeping up for those faster miles, secret speedster!

Sunday 5/4: Yoga for runners (45 min).  Much needed after that 12 miler!

Weekly mileage:  18 miles

And just like that, we’re in taper.  I’m pretty excited to see what happens on race day and will be sharing my goals soon!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

3 Responses to “Brooklyn Half Training Week 9”

  1. GB May 5, 2014 at 11:56 am #

    Welcome to Taper Town USA!

    • Kim May 5, 2014 at 1:20 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂

  2. Beth May 8, 2014 at 2:39 am #

    You are amazing!!!! Strong, fast, and brave and I have no doubt that you will CRUSH it in Brooklyn! THANK YOU for being the BEST running buddy (and friend) a girl could ask for and RUNNING with me last weekend. Love you from the bottom of my heart!

Leave a Reply

