My Birthday Gift to Myself

6 May

Hi friends.  Today is my 28th birthday!  For each year of my twenties thus far, I’ve planned some sort of birthday celebration.  Usually it involves going to a Yankee game with my lady friends…

398214_871259247561_228010260_n

Bleacher creatures.

One year it involved bowling and mini cupcakes…

Birthdays call for mini cupcakes!

Birthdays call for mini cupcakes!

Last year, I celebrated my birthday with a bunch of my closest friends at the beer garden in Astoria…

Recognize that guy behind me?

Recognize that guy behind me? That’s boyfriend…before he was boyfriend.

This year is the first year I don’t really have a celebration planned.  I’m traveling to NJ for work today and then I have a little speed work session on tap tonight!  😉 Because I’m hoping to celebrate my 28th year on this planet by getting a PR in Brooklyn in a few weeks!!!  I’m having a much more low key birthday this year, and that’s just fine with me!  I’ve worked hard to become a healthier and happier version of myself over the past few years, and find that I celebrate my life and myself much more often than just on birthdays.

Don’t worry though, I still bought myself a little birthday gift!  Last night I bit the bullet and signed up as a member of CrossFit 516.  I wrote about being a CF groupie and have been posting about my beginner classes during training, but this is serious now.  My buddy Liz and I are going to be full on CrossFit addicts.  So get ready!

I like to follow rules.

So here’s to a happy and healthy 28th year…and many more ahead!

Do you CrossFit or know any addicts?  How do you like to celebrate your birthday?  Let’s talk about it..

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

3 Responses to “My Birthday Gift to Myself”

  1. kristin miller May 7, 2014 at 1:32 am #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I really wish the photo of you two with flower crowns skipping on the sidewalk was here…maybe I’ll scrounge it up…Hope you had a GREAT day!

  2. Beth May 8, 2014 at 2:38 am #

    I hope you had the happiest birthday. I KNOW you will get your birthday wish and a shiny, new PR in Brooklyn next weekend. I can’t wait to celebrate you!!!!!!! May this year bring you everything you dream of friend. You deserve only the best!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brooklyn Half Training Week 10 | KH Nutrition - May 12, 2014

    […] crap…my hips, abs and lower back were on fire after this!  And in a post-WOD blur, Liz and I finally signed up for CF…dun dun […]

Leave a Reply

