Brooklyn Half Training Week 10

12 May

Week 10 of training…AKA the week I lost all my confidence.  I’ve had a great training cycle, up until this week when my runs were just plain bad or non-existent.  I no longer feel like I’m capable of my Brooklyn goals (which I’ll be posting soon).  Someone tell me this is normal and I’m not totally crazy!  Let’s recap this past week:

Monday 5/5: CrossFit.  We did more squat lessons, then a tabata workout that didn’t look so bad at first glance…but was actually pretty brutal.
20140507-182049.jpg

It was 8 20 second rounds of each: squats, KB swings and flutter kicks with a 10 second break in between.  Holy crap…my hips, abs and lower back were on fire after this!  And in a post-WOD blur, Liz and I finally signed up for CF…dun dun dun!

Tuesday 5/6 (AKA My Birthday!) Coach had 5 miles with ten 1-minute pick-ups at 8:00 pace on the sched.  I did nothing like that.  I was super sore, didn’t feel well and was tired the entire time.  I did 5 pickups (barely getting down to 8:00 pace) and then mentally gave up.  I even ended up walking my last mile because my mommy called and I chatted with her instead.  Oh well, shitty runs happen…right?

Wednesday 5/7: CrossFit.  You guys!  This was supposed to be the very last beginners class for us…THANK GOODNESS!  But I was in no mood for it.  The classes had become repetitive for CF buddy Liz and I because of the way we were able to attend them and I just wasn’t interested in push-pressing a PVC pipe anymore.  The CF gods must have been listening to us before class, because Logan (owner/coach) told us to just jump in with the regular class!  Woohoo!  I was pumped at first…and then realized I had gotten just what I wanted.  I wasn’t push-pressing a PVC pipe…I’d be doing it with a real bar (plus weight) 150 times.  Ha!  The WOD was:

A) 5 RFT with 4 minutes rest between each round:

30 Push Presses (I used 35lb)

20 KB Swings (I used 25lb KB)

10 Burpees

B) 3 x 400m run with 4 min rest between

Score= Slowest of A+B

For me, that was 3:24 and 2:24.

Although I’ve done “real” classes before, this was my first one with CrossFit 516, which I feel marks my start as a legit CrossFitter.  Onward and upward from here! 🙂

Thursday 5/8: 4 easy + 4 strides  Rest. Oops.  I was just exhausted and had a lot to do….and didn’t feel like it.

Friday 5/9: Rest.  I had to drive upstate after work, so no time for a workout!

Saturday 5/10: The plan was 8 miles (6 easy, 2 @ 8:45).  The reality was awful.  I was upstate for my friends baby shower so I headed over to the Auburn Trail, an awesome 9 mile stretch that crosses streams, a golf course, etc.  It’s really pretty.

IMG_6196

IMG_6205

IMG_6207

Great place to run…awful run!  Here come the excuses:  I headed out a little late, and it was already 72 degrees when I started running.  I was still tired, probably from working 8 hours Friday then jumping in the car and driving for 6.5!  My first 2 miles felt okay, there was a little bit of a breeze so it wasn’t too warm.  Then I fell apart.  I got hot, I had no water, my head hurt and I knew there was no way I could do 8 miles.  Oh, and I stepped on a snake!  So I once again, I quit.  I just wanted to be done and get back, get ready and celebrate with my friends.  A failed last long run is a good sign, right?

Sunday 5/11: Rest.  And 6 more hours of driving.  But I got to spend some time with my family and see this little guy too:

IMG_6277

The cutest.

That’s that.  5 DAYS UNTIL BROOKLYN.  And hopefully plenty of sleep til Brooklyn! 😉

Have you had a bad week of training?  Tell me I’m not totally crazy and my race will be fine….PLEASE.

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

 

5 Responses to “Brooklyn Half Training Week 10”

  1. Beth May 12, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    You had a few crappy runs! It happens. Now it’s out of your system so you can, repeat after your favorite buddy, CRUSH THE BROOKLYN HALF MARATHON!!!!!!! Of course no one wants to feel defeated the week before their goal race but it just means you’re going to have a great race…it’s science!!! You’ve had such a strong training cycle and you are mentally and physically READY TO ROCK THIS RACE! So start believing buddy!

    • Kim May 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

      Thank you, friend. I’m changing my tune to positive this week and am going to go for it in Brooklyn! 🙂

  2. kmenconi May 12, 2014 at 3:00 pm #

    Ugh I’m on Week 11 of Half training and Week 10 was a low point for me. I had a really bad/hard long weekend run and thought how the heck am I going to get through this? I guess we all have our “challenging” weeks but you got this! You have put in the training and the work to get to this point and it will all be worth it when you cross the finish line.

    • Kim May 12, 2014 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks! Same goes to you. Bad weeks happen, and I think they make the good runs all that much better! Good luck with your race! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goals for the Brooklyn Half Marathon | KH Nutrition - May 14, 2014

    […] the Brooklyn Half marathon is now 3 days away.  Besides last week, I’ve had a solid training cycle.  I was nervous to get back into training after coming off […]

Leave a Reply

