Goals for the Brooklyn Half Marathon

14 May

3

So the Brooklyn Half marathon is now 3 days away.  Besides last week, I’ve had a solid training cycle.  I was nervous to get back into training after coming off an injury during marathon training in the fall.  Up until a few weeks ago, I really wasn’t sure if I was going to “race” Brooklyn or just run for fun. But I’m in good shape and I’ve heard Brooklyn might be good course to PR.  So after last week knocked me down a bit, this week I’m working on my mental game.  My running buddy (who has been with my every step of the way this training cycle) has sent me a few quotes that are helping…

unrelenting

I’m deciding to trust in my training and believe.

wantit

I’ve decided I want it!

I’m focusing on all of my strong runs this cycle and the fact that I added in CrossFit to gain strength.  If all goes well, I can PR.  And if I don’t, that’s okay too.  I’m scared, but mostly excited to go for it.  More than anything, I’m happy to be running pain-free!  So without further ado, here are my race goals:

A) Sub-2. Plain and simple.  I’ll take 1:59:59. 🙂

B) PR.  My current PR is from the Wineglass Half in October-2:00:50.  So close to sub-2!

C) Finish strong, pain-free and happy.

I’m dreaming big, putting my goals out there and maintaining a positive attitude for the rest of the week.  And of course I’ll also be eating well, drinking plenty of water and prioritizing sleep!  Because IT’S RACE WEEK!!! 🙂

It seems everyone is running the Brooklyn Half.  Are you?  What’s your go-to race day mantra? How do you push yourself to reach your goals?  Help me out! 🙂

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

7 Responses to “Goals for the Brooklyn Half Marathon”

  1. therfpscribe May 14, 2014 at 11:22 am #

    My mantra for my half marathon this Saturday (it’s in the Marne region of France) is “if I set a PR I get 2 glasses of champagne”. Good luck for the Brooklyn Half! 🙂

    • Kim May 15, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

      Haha I love that! I’ll definitely be enjoying a post-race beer! 🙂 And good luck in your race!

  2. Allison May 14, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    You got this! I completely understand the excitement of running pain free. My plan is to run after you from wave 2. Have a GREAT race!

    • Kim May 15, 2014 at 5:01 pm #

      You can totally chase after me, Ms. speedier than you think! Can’t wait to see you Saturday!

  3. Kristin miller May 16, 2014 at 9:40 am #

    You’ve got this!!! I will be cheering in spirit for you in Astoria!!! Remember: you are a finisher! Finish what you started in your training!!!

  4. Beth May 16, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

    I’m already so proud of you!!! No matter what tomorrow brings you should already be proud of yourself too! You have gotten SO strong and speedy and have continued to not let fear stand in your way. Tomorrow should be no different. #gofasttakechances my friend! I’ll be with you in the spirit the entire way!!!!!! Head Up. Wings Out. And, most importantly, know how much I believe in you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brooklyn Half Marathon Recap | KH Nutrition - May 21, 2014

    […] you only want the quick & dirty version, here it is: I met all of my goals for the Brooklyn Half!  I went sub-2, PR’ed and ran a strong and (mostly) happy race!  And […]

Leave a Reply

