Who Inspires You?

30 May

99f496b88680eb5ae42a10ba66341bfb

What (or who) inspires you?  For me there are so many answers to that question.  I find inspiration everywhere: quotes/mantras, professional athletes, mentors and even friends.  I spend a lot of time reflecting on what inspires and motivates me.  And while I know how great it is to be an inspiration to others, it’s not something I’ve given much thought to.  I don’t consider myself to be all that influential.  My blog/social media presence is pretty small in comparison to others out there, and I have honestly thought about just dropping it so many times.  But then out-of-the-blue, someone reaches out and says they love following me and reading about my training or nutrition tips.  Or they tell me I’ve motivated them to sign up for a race or take a closer look at their eating.  And so I keep it up.  To know I make a difference (even if it is to that ONE person) makes me want to keep posting.  I definitely don’t blog daily, and don’t think I ever will, but I do try to post to some social media platform at least once a day.  Because it matters.  Sure, some of it is a little vain (it’s the nature of social media…) but if me doing my thing inspires someone else, I’ll keep posting.

For today’s post I want to give a little shout out to a few of the people who have recently told me I inspire them.  Because you know what?  THEY INSPIRE ME!  It’s not easy to make changes, even when they’re small, but it is ALWAYS worth it to live a healthier and happier life.  So here goes:

To my buddy MG who recently signed up for his first half-marathon and has since been texting me about his progress in training.  I’m 99% sure he doesn’t read my blog, but oh well!  MG’s never run a race before and has already built up to 7 miles. So awesome!  Between working and raising a family, it’s not always easy to fit in time for training, but it will be worth it!  You’re inspiring your students and your family and anyone else you share your story with! Including ME.  I’m so proud and excited to see as he continues to train and kicks butt in that half!

alex

To my friend Alex (above), who recently ran her first half marathon.  She juggles a crazy schedule working as an RN, planning her wedding and dealing with two crazy doggies and an even crazier fiance…and she still got it done.  And she did most of her training runs on a treadmill, you guys!  Badass.  She set a goal, worked hard and achieved it and I couldn’t be more proud! 

20140530-060441-21881362.jpg

Liz is all about the planks!

To CrossFit buddy Liz.  It takes a lot of balls to start working out after not being very active, and even more so if that workout is CrossFit!  As she said to me yesterday, it’s like she skipped over the “gateway drugs” and went straight to being a crack CrossFit addict.  And guess what?  She’s holding her own and already doing things she previously didn’t think she was capable of.  Inspiration right there, folks!

To my pal Neel…who tells me every time I see him that he thinks about texting me whenever he crushes a run or workout. (P.S. I wish you would, buddy!  I’d love it.)  He is going to be running the NYC Marathon this fall and is doing it for a charity to boot!  Check out his story here and please consider donating to his cause (The Mayor’s Alliance for NYC Animals).

To my old college friend DM, who probably has no clue how proud she makes me.  She started off with a goal to run a 5k and is now signed up to run Wineglass as her first half!  I geek out and “like” all of her running statuses on facebook and love watching her progress.  Go Nonner! 🙂

What I really want to share with all of these people is that THEY inspire ME.  There are so many more people in my life who inspire me on a daily basis, but I thought these few deserved special mention.  I’m all about living my healthiest and happiest life and truly try to walk the walk.  Of course, things aren’t perfect all the time.  But if you can spread positivity by being positive yourself…do it.  You never know who you’re inspiring!

9fc5216655946a66b93e34218d3dc3b5

Tell me…who inspires you?!  How do you try to inspire others?  Spread the positivity, y’all.

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

3 Responses to “Who Inspires You?”

  1. Beth May 30, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    YOU INSPIRE ME!!!!! The end.

  2. Kaella (KaellaOnTheRun) May 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

    I LOVE this!!! I get a lot of inspiration to live a (mostly) healthy life through social media including blogs like yours! I’m so happy I found it! I love reading your posts 🙂

    When I first started running, about a year and a half ago, lots of my friends weren’t active.Now, they’re calling me to come running! It’s pretty cool how that works. I hope I inspire others AND continue to be inspired! 🙂

  3. Maureen Ruberto May 31, 2014 at 12:27 am #

    Of course it’s you!

Leave a Reply

