More Things I’m Digging Lately

1 Aug

Happy Friday, everyone! I’m here with another post on some stuff I’ve been loving lately.  

Viki’s Granola.  I sampled this while shopping in Fairway last week and fell in love.  It’s part of their Love Local campaign to support local food, farms and companies.  Viki’s is a Long Island company (right here in Bethpage!) that boasts love as their first ingredient.  Granola can be tricky and have a ton of added sugar and unnecessary ingredients, but this one has only 7 ingredients and 5g of sugar per 1/4 cup (all from honey).  Other flavors include Original Honey and Cranberry Walnut…so if you’re a granola fan-try out Viki’s!  

IMG_7711

MPG shorts.  As I started going to CrossFit more this summer, I realized I needed a few more pairs of shorts for WODs.  Not many of my running shorts work well for CrossFit, either because they’re too roomy in the legs (I don’t need to be giving any free peep shows…), or they’re too tight and I can’t perform different movements comfortably.  Tight is good for not moving on long runs, but not great when I’m going between box-jumps and pull-ups, etc. I bought a pair of Reebok CrossFit Core Training Shorts and I LOVE them for CrossFit.  They’re shorter than I’m used to wearing (hello, runner chafe!), but the leg is wide enough for my big thighs without being too showy.  BUT the shorts are pretty expensive and I just couldn’t rationalize buying more.  Lucky for me, my go-to store for cheap fitness clothes-TJ Maxx-came to the rescue!  I found these MPG shorts that look like a combo of my Lululemon Tracker shorts and the Reebok Core shorts.  So I took a chance and bought three pairs! At $14.95 each, I couldn’t help it.  And so far, so GREAT! They fit well, have a thick waistband and stay in place for WODs.

IMG_7693

Not to mention they are super cute…I love this blue/purple pattern and the grey with subtle polka dots the most!IMG_7768

The Runner’s World Cookbook.

rwcookbook

Source: Fairytales and Fitness

My aunt gave me this cookbook for Christmas last year and I’ve been neglecting it….until now.  I turned to it for some recipe inspiration and have made a few recipes in the last month or so, including the Caramelized Onion and Fig Pizza and the Portabello and Asparagus Pasta.  So good!

Orange Is The New Black. Boyfriend and I are obsessed with the Netflix series and obviously watched all of Season 2 within a few weeks of its release.  If you’ve been holding off on this one, ditch whatever you’re doing and start watching now.  Anyway, I decided I wanted to read the book, which I had heard was less dramatic and crazy, but I still find it interesting.  So I’m about 1/3 of the way through and am loving it already.  My only complaint is that I haven’t encountered “Crazy Eyes” yet, so hoping that happens soon! 🙂

That’s all for today.  Tell me: what are some things you’re digging lately? Any recipes I should be trying?

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

For past editions, check out these posts:

Some Things I’m Digging Lately

Things I’m Digging Lately 

Things I’m Digging Lately 

3 Responses to “More Things I’m Digging Lately”

  1. kristin miller August 1, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

    My grocery store started carrying these dried fruit combos like fig and almond and peach and hazelnut! It’s a flat circle in plastic and $0.59, the perfect on the go snack! I’ll get you some 😉

  2. Kaella (KaellaOnTheRun) August 1, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

    I’m LOVING Orange is The New Black!! I started it a few weeks ago and am about two episodes in to the second season. It’s GREAT!! I’m also loving the summer weather we’re getting right now (even if I have work during the day!) Have a great weekend 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I’m Digging Lately V | KH Nutrition - September 26, 2014

    […] Things I’m Digging Lately 3 […]

Leave a Reply

