Homemade Vanilla Maple Almond Milk

13 Aug

IMG_8078[1]

As someone who has been drinking almond milk for about 3 years now and enjoying almonds for even longer, I can’t believe it has taken me until now to take a stab at making my own almond milk.  I use almond milk pretty often…in smoothies, baking, cooking, etc. and I’m all about homemade anything vs buying processed and packaged items.  So why haven’t I made my own?  Well, for one because it’s not all that cost effective, unless you are able to re-purpose the “pulp” leftover from making the milk (which I plan on doing by making almond meal).  And I also don’t have any cheesecloth.  It’s just something I’ve never picked up for my kitchen.  So when I came across an opportunity to review the Homemade Nut Milk Bag from Everyday Kitchen Essentials in exchange for a free bag, I took it!

IMG_8036[1]

The nut milk bag (can you say that with a straight face? Because I can’t…#MatureAdult) is an awesome tool that seems so simple but really did the trick.  I’m not reviewing it in detail here in this post, but I would definitely recommend it for making nut milks.  It doesn’t allow any shells through and was super easy to clean and reuse.

IMG_8038[1]

My almond milk turned out to be delicious and I’ll definitely be making it again.  The recipe for my Vanilla Maple Almond Milk can be found at the end of the post, but first follow each step via photos:
IMG_8062[1]

IMG_8064[1]

IMG_8066[1]

IMG_8069[1]

IMG_8082[1]

 

Vanilla Maple Almond Milk

Makes 3.5 cups

1 cup raw almonds (soaked overnight)

3.5 cups water

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp pure maple syrup

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1. Combine pre-soaked almonds and water in a blender.  Add vanilla and maple syrup.  Blend approximately 1 minute or until nuts are minced (There will be some larger pieces of shell visible).

2.  Pour milk through Nut Milk Bag (or cheesecloth) into a large bowl.  Squeeze for a few minutes until all of the milk is strained.

3.  Rinse blender with water and pour almond milk back in.  Sprinkle with cinnamon and swirl gently before storing in an airtight container.

Note: Shake almond milk well before using.  Store in the refrigerator and use within one week.

IMG_8087[1]
My homemade almond milk was immediately put to use in my Friday morning smoothie!  So tasty, with only the ingredients I want and none of the additives or thickeners I don’t (read: carrageenan).  I was only able to soak my almonds for 3 hours this time and I think the almond flavor didn’t turn out as strong as it would have if they were soaked overnight, so that’s one change I’ll be making next time around.  I can’t wait to keep experimenting with different flavor combinations and even different nuts.  I’m thinking the newly trendy cashew milk will be next!

Tell me…have you ever made homemade nut milk?  Do you think it’s worth the cost? What’s your favorite flavor combo?  

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

 

One Response to “Homemade Vanilla Maple Almond Milk”

  1. mealsandreels August 13, 2014 at 8:40 am #

    YUM

Leave a Reply

