NYCM Training: Week 9

15 Sep

Well, I guess it had to happen sooner or later.  This week I experienced my first not-so-great week in my thus-far awesome training cycle.  It seems like maybe the running gods didn’t like how I was talking about how great all my runs were going.  So they sent me a huge painful blister that sidelined me for a few mid-week runs and then topped the week off with my most difficult long run yet.  Awesome.  Let’s recap how that went down:

Monday 9/8: CrossFit.  Another brutal workout, which was super long so I won’t go into details here.  Just know it included rowing, running, burpees, KB swings, pull-ups, push-ups, wall balls and squats–Pretty much every crossfit movement.  Ouch.

Tuesday 9/9: So, my workout was supposed to be 5 miles with 3 mile repeats at 8:35-8:45.  But the super painful blister I earned from my 16-miler on Sunday had other plans.  The blister is right on the ball of my foot between my big toe and second toe and (sorry to be gross) the outer skin came off, leaving it open and raw, and pretty deep.  I bandaged it as best I could and attempted my run, but after my warm-up mile, decided it was best to stop running.  I called boyfriend to come scoop me up off the side of the road and headed straight to CVS for anti-blister supplies.

IMG_8806[1]

Wednesday 9/10: CrossFit.  Thank goodness the workout didn’t have any running or jumping, so my new blister friend could have another day of rest.  The workout was 8 rounds of 300m row with 2-minutes of rest between, plus some core work.  We scored fastest and slowest rowing times, and I kept it pretty consistent with 1:12 being my fastest and 1:14 the slowest.

Thursday 9/11: Rest.  Another weekday run thwarted by my buddy the blister.  The good news is that Bandaid Advanced Healing for Blisters is amazing.  It eliminates the pain from walking on my foot and is already helping to heal the opening.

Friday 9/12: 5 easy (9:41 average pace).  I went out with a bandaged up foot and no expectations.  The run felt great and I didn’t even notice the blister until about halfway through. Success.

Saturday 9/13: Rest.  And by rest, I mean spending the day celebrating my best friend’s bachelorette with a wine tour on the North Fork.  Not exactly ideal rest day, but we had a blast.  IMG_8950[1]

Sunday 9/14: 18 mile long run (10:51 average pace).  This was easily one of the most challenging runs of my life.  I was tired and not necessarily hungover, but not in the best state in terms of hydration and nutrition.  I was thankful that at least the weather was gorgeous and I was able to fit in this long run at all with my crazy schedule.  I had downloaded Oprah’s “What I Know For Sure” audio book and was hoping that would carry me through a 3+ hour run.  It worked for awhile, but my pace was super slow and I alternated between being uplifted by her stories and choking/sobbing over her words.  I was in a strange place mentally and had to continuously remind myself to just put one foot in front of the other.  I took some walk breaks (the first one after only 2 miles) and I even stopped a few times to stretch.  My pace was much slower than my long runs have been as of late but I fought to stay positive.  At least I was running, right?!  The blisters were noticeable, but not stopping me. I knew that although I was struggling, this run would make me stronger for the marathon.  My trusty running buddy Beth told me to shut Oprah off and turn on some tunes to finish the run, and I listened.  Nothing like a little T. Swift dance party to push me through Mile 15.  The good news is, I physically felt good for this run.  No real aches or pains, just a blister and a crazy-runner-brain.  But that happens, I guess….right?! 🙂

18

Weekly totals: 24 miles, 2 CrossFit workouts, 2.5 rest days.

Have the running gods ever shut you down?  

How do you heal running blisters?

What’s your long-run mental strategy?

Tell me about it…

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

2 Responses to “NYCM Training: Week 9”

  1. Meredith September 15, 2014 at 10:53 am #

    I know exactly what that type of run feels like. For me, it was a 10 miler that I did with my sister in February or March before Boston. I think it takes a really bad run (and actually, you FINISHED, so that’s not even a bad run), to make all the other runs feel that much better. You are doing AWESOME with your training, you are such an inspiration, and you will KICK ASS on Nov 2. Happy to know you. xo

  2. trueindigo September 16, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

    Sanitize a needle, pop the blisters and let them heal up. By the next long run, they are good to go.

Leave a Reply

