NYCM Training: Week 13

13 Oct

Hellooooo from Taper Town, my friends! I’m finished with peak week and am officially tapering until November 2nd!  Eek! It finally feels real.  Last year at this time, I was an absolute mess.  I was having meltdowns left and right over whether I could or would try to run my marathon.  This year is a totally different story.  Sure, I’m sore and tired, but I’m also so much stronger and confident that I WILL run the NYC Marathon.  Knock on #allthewood.  Seriously, knock on some wood for me?  Thanks.  And without further ado, here’s how peak week played out:

Monday 10/6: Rest and foam roll my ouchie quads.  Despite running a mostly flat route for my first 20-miler, my quads were hurtin and it felt good to roll em out!

Tuesday 10/7: 6 miles (3 mile repeats at 8:10-8:15 with 800m jog between).  I was honestly a little nervous I wouldn’t be able to hit these paces, but went out with intentions to give it my best.  Mile splits ended up being 8:06, 8:17, 8:13, which I was pleasantly surprised with.

Wednesday 10/8: 6 easy miles (9:59 average pace).  Surprise, surprise-I was traveling for work this week and was staying in a hotel near the Trenton-Mercer Airport in NJ, which meant there was nowhere to run outdoors, so I took it to the treadmill once again.  It was a mental challenge more than anything and I’m glad I was able to fit it in.

Thursday 10/9: I had high hopes of hitting up another CrossFit box during my travels, but it didn’t happen so I settled for a hotel room workout.  I started with a nice easy 20 minute yoga video and ended with a quick strength workout (3 rounds of: 10 air squats, 10 sit-ups, 10 push-ups).

Friday 10/10: Rest and a glorious 8.5 hours of sleep.

Saturday 10/11: Rest.  Less than stellar weather forecasts meant my running buddy and I pushed our long run off to Sunday.  I should have done a few easy miles, but spent the rainy day cleaning and getting life shit done.  It was awesome.

Sunday 10/12: 20 miles.  Beth offered to run the last 10 miles of the NYC marathon course with me and I tacked on 5 before and 5 after to total 20 for the day.  The weather was absolutely perfect for a fall long run and I can only hope for similar weather on marathon day!

IMG_9925

I started my run in my old Astoria neighborhood and then met Beth at the Queensboro Bridge.  It was my first time running this bridge this training cycle and I did it TWICE (once at 5 miles, then again at 18.5 miles).  In 3 weeks, I’ll be running it at mile 15, so I think I’m ready.
IMG_9910[1]

Next, we ran up first avenue and over the Willis Avenue Bridge into the Bronx.IMG_9919 Then back into Manhattan over the Madison Avenue bridge.  IMG_9922We ran together all the way to the finish line and then I headed back East over the Queensboro and into Astoria.  Although my Garmin and Beth’s Garmin showed completely different paces the entire run, I’m going to go with mine, which was faster and said overall average pace of 10:10.  I definitely pushed my pace for a few of the earlier and later miles, per coach’s plan.  Overall, a strong run with my favorite running buddy!  I’m so excited to be in taper and start mentally preparing myself to run 26.2!

Weekly totals: 32 miles, 1 yoga/strength, 3 rest days

Alright…I’m ready for advice now!  How do I get through taper without going crazy?  Favorite playlist suggestions?  Go!

3BF677B952DD960A6BD0AC1DAE295ADF

5 Responses to “NYCM Training: Week 13”

  1. Jason Saltmarsh October 13, 2014 at 12:29 pm #

    Kim, Great training week! I’m envious that you are close enough to run the actual course. Enjoy the next 3 weeks, it’s all about keeping the faith.

  2. Beth October 13, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    I’m going with your Garmin as well! Makes me speedier 😉 I had the best run with you this weekend. As always. Buddy, I’m so proud of how strong you are this year and how amazing you have done with your training. I know on race day you will be nothing short of amazing as well! Welcome to taper! You earned it. Enjoy it. Don’t go crazy. And remember I’m here for you for the next 20 days (well forever actually) and for all 26.2 miles on race day! #runningbuddyinmypocket #jiminy

  3. Kaella (KaellaOnTheRun) October 15, 2014 at 7:15 pm #

    That’s awesome, great job lady!!! You’re going to crush it (I also knocked on wood for you!) 😉

    • Kim October 17, 2014 at 11:48 am #

      Thanks so much! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I Stay Healthy On The Go! | KH Nutrition - October 14, 2014

    […] on the road a bunch lately and if you follow along here at KH Nutrition, you know I’m also marathon training.  So how do I fit it all in?  Here are some of my tips for fitting in (healthy) eating and […]

Leave a Reply

